Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Linux!

• Please log in to reply

jt1990

jt1990

Member 1K

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,519 posts
I'm getting a new laptop next week. I'm considering wiping out my desktop and setting up a dual boot with XP Pro and Linux, just so I can learn how to use it. Now, I'm a total noob at Linux, so I have no idea what version I'd want to start with or how to install it, or anything like that. Any opinions/suggestions?

Advertisements

Kemasa

Kemasa

Nobody

• Technician
  • 1,727 posts
You might want to search the forum for the discussion of which version to choose. I know that many beginners like Ubuntu.

You might also consider having a Virtual Machine for XP. VirtualBox works quite well and it is nice to have both on at the same time. This assumes that you have a fast enough machine with enough memory.

jt1990

jt1990

Member 1K

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,519 posts
well, I'd be running it on a P4 2.8 with 2GB of RAM, although I don't know what the system requirements look like for Linux or Virtual Machine.

If I have time I'll look around.

Kemasa

Kemasa

Nobody

• Technician
  • 1,727 posts
You can run Linux on less than that. I have 2Gb of memory and using 256MB for the XP Virtual machine and it works fine. I don't recall the speed of the machine, but I think that it is close to what you have. You might want to allocate more memory if you use XP more or use larger programs.

Titan8990

Titan8990

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,189 posts