Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Transferring files from a dead XP machine to a new Vista machine

• Please log in to reply

Krodge

Krodge

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hello everybody, I know I'm a newbie and I'm probably posting this in the wrong place, but feel free to hate on me for it. :)

I've just encountered a bit of an unusual problem. There was a power outage at my mother's house, and a surge which has killed the power supply, motherboard, AND cpu of her XP machine which I built in 2000. I figured it lasted long enough and she'd been wanting a laptop for a while, so I helped her buy a new machine (Vista of course) which she now knows how to connect to her big monitor, printer, mouse, and keyboard. The one issue is she had several pictures etc saved on her old machine. I picked up one of those dynex USB hard drive enclosures, popped the old HD in, hooked it up, no problems. I browse to her folder, suddenly I'm being told I don't have permission to view the folder, and to click continue to get permission. I do, and the predictable UAC confirmation screen comes up and I click continue.. then it hangs. I've tried playing with the security settings (right clicking, menus, etc) and have all the rights granted for her account, yet it keeps telling me I don't have permission to open those folders. Is there something I'm missing, or am I gonna have to take the hard drive to a friend's XP machine to save all these holiday/baby pictures?

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts