Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

first time building a pc - help please

• Please log in to reply

NightNinja

NightNinja

• Pip
  • 7 posts
hi,

I'm new to building computers from scratch. I just bought all the parts (I though) I needed and received them the other day.

I have:

• Motherboard: PC CHIPS P53G motherboard
  • Processor: Intel Celeron 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 2x 512 MB
  • CD Drive: IDE DVD/CD ROM drive
  • HDD: SATA 80GB HDD
  • Case: Case w/ 500w PSU

I'm puting all this stuff together and I realise that the case has all these little wires coming from the front. theres one for the 2 USB ports on the front, one for the audio ports, and several really tiny 2pin wires for the LEDs and Powerbutton. I found pretty easily where the USB and audio cables go, but the power button wire and LEDs had a little issue I can't figure out. first of all, the case wants me to plug in a HDD LED, reset sw, power led, and a power sw. second, the motherboard manual says to plug all this in "panel1" - panel 1 has 4x pins on the top and 5x pin on the bottom. is looks like this

l - - - - l
l - - - - - l

its labeled starting from upper left

• FP PWR/SLP +
  • FP PWR/SLP -
  • POWER SW P +
  • POWER SW N -
  • key (the upper right blank space)
  • HD LED + (lower left to right now)
  • HD LED -
  • RESET SW N -
  • RESET SW P +
  • RSVD DNU