Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Dual OS install on 2 physical HD's - How do I do this?

• Please log in to reply

Neofyte

Neofyte

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hello! Hope someone can help me with this. I'm a bit of newbie!

Just got a new Dell Quad-core machine with Vista installed on it. Since Dell already has the main HD partitioned into 3 primary partitions (one is a header of some sort, the 2nd D: is "Recovery" and the 3rd is C: where the OS is installed), I have no choice but to install XP on a 2nd physical hard drive - which is fine as I have a Seagate 200GB drive handy.

So I'm not exactly OS or hardware savvy and need someone to show me step by step the best and easiest way to do this.

I currently have HD#2 (let's call it F: ) installed in my old computer as a secondary drive. The old computer has XP installed on the C: drive but I don't want to image it and restore it onto F: because of all the accumulated crap on it. I want a clean install of XP on F:

Should I....

1. Install XP from my old machine and transfer the HD #2 ( F: ) over to my new computer and then install the necessary drivers

OR

2. Connect the 2nd physical HD to my new machine and install XP from installation disk in CD drive?

I am aware of the issues with Vista and the need to fix the boot loader file... so I downloaded EasyBCD...

Immediate concerns/questions include: