Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

System Crash :(

• Please log in to reply

zimbra

zimbra

• Pip
  • 6 posts
I have a hardware/ software problem ( I think hardware) where my whole system crashes during more processor intensive games. The game simply freezes up for about 4 seconds then it's lights out. I am having this problem with a new system I just built (it's my first build so forgive me if I'm a little clueless). The system is a quad core barbone kit that had everything, but cd drive hard drive and os. Thats important because I recycled my operating system, hard drives and cd drives from my old computer (a compaq persario). I'm using a 2002 version of windows xp home with service pack 3. I think it could be a hardware problem because the games it crashes on (c&c 3 and civ 4 mainly) worked just fine on my previous computer, but I think it could also, maybe, be a softwaer problem because my version of windows xp is a compaq tweaked version (slightly modified for a few features to make it a little different). I was wondering if maybee that factor may play a role. And by the way, when the system re-boots there is NO error message, just hap-happy windows. It's not an overheating problem either because the CPU temp is well within max limits (53C@ max Load).

My system:
Intel Q6600 2.4ghz
Intel DG31PR Motherboard
Power Up GEN-6803 800w psu
2gb corsair ddr2800
Windows XP home edition v2002 w/ sp3

Please Help! I would hate to have to return my new comp,

Advertisements

james_8970

james_8970

Trusted Tech

• Retired Staff