Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Microsoft Access or Something Else?

• Please log in to reply

thelochjessmonster

thelochjessmonster

• Pip
  • 3 posts
:) Hi! Ummmm.... I'm a web tech, but my boss asked me to build what he calls a "database" for him. So basically I need a customer database and I have NO CLUE what I'm doing... I'm just tinkering with all kinds of programs and completely lost. What program am I supposed to be using to build this database... I have microsoft access, but I couldn't figure it out. I downloaded Python and pHpMyAdmin, although now that I have, I don't know why.... Could some one please give me a sense of direction??? Just let me know what I need to use, and where I can learn to use it!

Thanks so much :)

Jessica

Advertisements

Neil Jones

Neil Jones

Member 5k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,476 posts
Perhaps you should clarify with your boss exactly what he wants a database for, what he wants to store in it and what use it's going to be.

Access is the best example of a database but its not exactly the most user friendly program to go with if you haven't used it before. Python is a scripting language for writing programs and phpMyAdmin is a database driven solution for websites. You don't need this.

thelochjessmonster

thelochjessmonster

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 3 posts