Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Start and Stop Services in a single batch file?

• Please log in to reply

AliL

AliL

• PipPip
  • 19 posts
Hi all, I was wondering if it is possible to start or stop a service using a single batch file with an "if" type structure?

I'm pretty new to this whole batch thing and was wondering if you could help me out.

I have been given this bit of code, but it seems a bit ugly to me because it requires part of the code to fail (i think) to trigger the other bit of code.

NET START "service" || NET STOP "service"

Personally I would have thought the code should look somewhat like this:

IF "service"==stopped "NET START 'service'"

IF "service"==started "NET STOP 'service'"

I expect many of you are screaming at your monitors that I have totally killed the code or missed the concept or something, but that's why I am here - so the experts can help.

I hope you can, and thanks in advance,

AliL

Advertisements

Ax238

Ax238

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 1,323 posts
AliL,

"||" is a command line redirect that is designed to run the second command if the first fails. I personally feel it is elegant, rather than "ugly". It provides for very concise commands.

Nonetheless, as goes the saying, there's more than one way to skin a cat. Here's maybe what you would call a "prettier" version:
sc query service | findstr /i running | if "%errorlevel%"=="0" (sc stop service) else (sc start service)