Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

sudden strange error messages, help!

• Please log in to reply

inatree

inatree

• Pip
  • 4 posts
hi, i am having problems with my system.
it has always had its problems but since there is no customer service and i am not technically a computer geek, i have never done anything about them. they have never interfered with anything important until now.
this is what has happened:

i installed a lexmark printer/scanner recently, and it worked fine. a few days later, after a day of normal computer function, while i was moving an image file to a different folder, suddenly tons of error messages, and even a couple of DOS windows that close by themselves came up. the messages wouldn't go away so i restarted, since then, they are relentless and occur every few minutes repeatedly. also since then, the lexmark software will not work anymore. i am a full time student and classes are starting in a few weeks, so i need to get this taken care of.

when i try to use the printer software, the error message says that some kind of dll file "is not a valid windows image".

here are the error messages. they all come up after bootup, and during shut-down.
the first one always comes up every 15 mins or so, for 6 times.

the most common one that comes up repeatedly:

16 bit MS-DOS subsystem
c:\windows\system32\wuauclt.exe
the NTVCM CPU has encountered an illegal instruction.
(then a long line of numbers and letters)
choose close to terminate application.

AOLDial.exe - bad image