Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

cd-rom device drivers not found in Win98SE

• Please log in to reply

Ponyroper

Ponyroper

• PipPip
  • 59 posts
Hi, Im new here and have a problem that I think you may be able to help with. I'm a rookie but I have built a couple of computers from kits without major problems. When I installed Win98SE in the kits using the startup disk to get cd-rom support everything went fine and the installation disk started and let me install the OS. The old computer I am now trying to rebuild with upgraded parts refuses to find the generic drivers on the startup disk or the generic drivers will not run the new cd-roms I have plugged in. The installation instructions for both devices say the generic 98 drivers should run them but they don't seem to be able to. I was forced to disconnect the HD and load the Win98 folder from another computer so that I could get the OS installed on the HD but the OS still does not seem to be able to run the cd-roms. It recognises the devices but comes back with the error message, "C:\>C:\Windows\Command\MSCDEX.EXE/D:MSCD001/M:10 Devise driver not found: 'MSCD001' No valid CDROM device drivers selected". I went in and deleted the devices from devise manager and restarted the computer and the new hardware installed the devices on startup but the drivers again did not install. One of the cd-rom's had a floppy driver disk but it did not have any drivers on it, it simply changed the config.sys and autoexec.bat files for some reason. When I restarted after running the floppy one startup sc