Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Computer Restarts at Windows GUI load

• Please log in to reply

youngsir76

youngsir76

• Pip
  • 7 posts
Noob here,

Hope you guys can help me out. I have an older desktop Hp Pavillion a230n. Came home one day after a lightning storm and found the computer won't fully load to the windows desktop. I've reformatted the hard drive and reinstalled the os using recovery discs provided by hp. Everything runs smoothly(windows loading from the bootscreen, fans run, and desktop appears) within about 30 seconds the monitor will show some sort of error and a blue screen pops up referencing the error. Its been a long time ago since i've tried to "correct" this problem and don't exactly remember the error reported. The computer will then just continue to restart (even if put in safe mode) and show critical error once the desktop window appears. I wanted to know if this is a motherboard failure or what could be the cause of it since everything pretty much loads up just fine.

If you need to know the specific error i can try and fire up the old computer.

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts
The specific error would be nice and also some spec on your computer.H-P says you should have XP on the computer. If you start hitting the F8 key when the computer is booting up you should be able to get into safemode. Does the computer keep restarting there in safemode? If it does not keep restarting it is usually a driver causing the problem.

You can also try this.