Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

need a new POWERFUL machine... need help!

• Please log in to reply

abone114

abone114

• PipPip
  • 36 posts
hey guys, i really want to get a new computer, looking to spend around $2,000-$2,500 on a machine. (if i can go cheaper without sacrificing performance than that would be ideal!!) im a 3D artist so i do lots of work in maya and zbrush so i need a very powerful machine. i was wondering what the best specifications are out there for this kind of machine. i was looking at:

the Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q9650 (4x 3.0GHz/12MB L2 Cache/1333FSB)

i also saw the Intel Core 2 Extreme Quad-Core Processor QX6850 (4x 3.0GHz/8MB L2 Cache/1333FSB) (does anyone know the difference in these processors?

and 2 graphics cards, geforce gtx 280 1 GB - running SLI mode.

what kind of motherboard should i be running?

also should i look for a DDR3 chipset or DDR2? and if i go DDR3 would i have to go 64 bit? and SHOULD i go to 64 bit? i heard that 64 bit was bad because no software supports it?? i know i would have to get a 64 bit OS. but would i still be able to run my programs like maya and zbrush?

i realize this is a very complex question but i would greatly appreciate anyone who could help me out! i dont know much about this stuff at all!!

THANKS SO MUCH!

Advertisements

Troy

Troy

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 8,841 posts
Hi there,