Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

First time build

• Please log in to reply

UncleShags

UncleShags

• Pip
  • 9 posts
Howdy.

This is my first time building a computer and am pretty nervous about it. Any advice you could give would be appreciated.

I will mostly be using it for gaming.

I'm right at my budget now. Including shipping it's barely under 2 grand.

I know the GPU is a bit over the top, but my hope is with that card I can have a good gaming computer for many years to come.

Here is a link to my tentative build:

http://secure.newegg...tNumber=9238486

Thanks for your help.

Advertisements

Troy

Troy

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 8,841 posts
Hi there,

That's a great looking build to me!

I'm just wondering why you have an 80GB and a 500GB hard drive? There's nothing really wrong with it, it's just an interesting choice...

Also, I suggest you have a look at some different CPU heatsink/fans, as that Zalman is a bit expensive. I personally have this one, and it's excellent. Some others on this forum have this, which is one of the best on the market right now. Both are much cheaper, and will give you excellent cooling performance.

Cheers

Troy

CrazyIvan007

CrazyIvan007

• PipPip
  • 87 posts