Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Cant burn CDs anymore.

• Please log in to reply

andy7

andy7

• Pip
  • 5 posts
Hi guys, I'm a newbie, I have a Dell 4400 2yrs old, with XP Home edition, with a _NEC NR-7900A CDR, I was able to read and burn cds until about 2 weeks ago. When I try to burn a CD now i get an error message that says there is some unknown error and cannot burn anymore. Don't understand what went wrong. I don't know much about computers and will appreciate your help. Thank you.

Advertisements

pip22

pip22

Trusted Tech

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,663 posts
Try System Restore, choose the oldest available restore point from the calendar. Start - All Programs - Accessories - System Tools - System Restore. If still no good, try the writer in another PC to establish whether or not the writer is faulty, or borrow a writer and fit it in your PC in place of the NEC. If the borrowed one works, It must be the NEC writer that's faulty. They are not expensive these days so get a new one.

andy7

andy7

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
hi Pip, thanks for replying so soon appreciate it. I'll try what you suggested.

andy7

andy7

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 5 posts