Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Flashing a BIOS

• Please log in to reply

P.T_Platinum

P.T_Platinum

• Pip
  • 6 posts
I want to flash my bios and update it since im having problems with my pc freezing on the pci device listing.
i have the bios for it which is revision 2.1,F5
http://tw.giga-byte....?ProductID=2744

What else do i need to flash it?I have a floppy drive which im going to install on it temporary.
Im running XP home SP2.
If you can direct me to the exact files i need that would be great because i have never done this before.

Or are the above files all i need.Since im probably going to boot block and flash it then.

Edited by P.T_Platinum, 18 September 2008 - 10:46 PM.

Advertisements

P.T_Platinum

P.T_Platinum

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
If anyone would help thats would be great since im stuck without a pc for a month now.I returned the mobo saying that it was broken(probably corrupt bios)
They said they looked at it and it was fine.Which it wasnt.I will have to rely on myself for this one

warriorscot

warriorscot

Member 5k

• Retired Staff
  • 8,889 posts
Just follow the flashing instructions from the board manufacturer, the motherboard flashing instructions are specific to every board and every manufacturer provides specific instructions for each motherboard. If you don't have the actual manual download it from Gigabyte, once you look in the manual it should be clear and yes those files that link goes to look to be the Bios codes.

P.T_Platinum

P.T_Platinum

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 6 posts