Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

DNS Server Error

• Please log in to reply

Maxmw22

Maxmw22

• Pip
  • 1 posts
OK before I start I like to think I know a little bit about computers, but in the computing world I am a noob and still get confused on some things. I have done some minor programming but who hasn't, but my latest problem stumps me and my fellow Comp Sci graduate friend. Ok here is the problem

I use 3 different Browsers IE (sparingly), Firefox, and Chrome

Now at home I get internet through my cable company and at work we have Verizon DSL.

Problem is this, when I am at home, I try to navigate to certain websites and I get a DNS Error. Now at first I figured it was the wireless router at home (linksys). So I went around and looked around and thought maybe it was my security settings, messed around, but no good. So I checked my browser settings, was my proxy settings too strict yadda yadda no dice. So what I did then was what I should of done in the first place, check both of my roommates computers. the one hard lined into the modem was able to navigate to those previous websites I could not access, and I checked my other roommates laptop and she too infact could also navigate there. My synopsis.....the problem is with my computer...and not my router.