Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Blue Screens, etc.

• Please log in to reply

just confused

just confused

• PipPip
  • 33 posts
I'm a newbie, and too old to be doing this stuff, so if I'm in the wrong forum someone kindly point me in the right
direction. This am I had a blue screen stop for a desktop. Yesterday I had downloaded the Java 6 update and
took the optional Open Office download to use as a backup to my Word Perfect Office 11. Assuming this was my
problem I removed the OO2.4 using add/remove programs and manually deleted the folder from ProgramFiles.
I used a restore point of last Sunday. I continue to get the blue screen stops (0x's of differing varieties). My
word processor will not open, allow me to remove it, or attept to reload it. Windows Installer gives me a msg:
"This patch package could not be opened. Verify that the patch package exists and that you can access it, or
contact the application vendor to verify that this is a valid Windows installer patch package." Attempts to manually
uninstall WPO11 are blocked by PFSE110.DLL. Help!

Advertisements

Samm

Samm

Trusted Tech

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,476 posts
Welcome to G2G

BSODs can be caused by any number of things, and can be hardware or software related. However, as you said you are receiving a number of different STOP error codes, then I think the first thing to check is the memory.