Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works

First build

• Please log in to reply

• Pip
  • 1 posts
My background is SW engineering, but I am familiar with hardware and networking and so I decided to build my first system. I mean, piece of cake right. My first step was research: Visited the dell site and hp site and took their top of the line systems, and compared their components with what online retailer have. Outside the case, I was able to price all the components and what a surprise. A $8K system would rum me about $3K - still lot of money compared to my P4 2.8Ghz dell I bought 4 years ago. Even a dude at work said 3K was a lot money to spend on PC. Yes and no, I guess, especially if I want a system that I don't want to go obsolete the day after I power it up the first time. I want a gaming box, so I'm thinking Intel chip, yes? But I don't want to spend 3K if I don't have to.

So I've done my research, I think and frankly I'm more confused than I was before I started. The selection of mother boards - holly $%^&. How do you chose? so I've looked at some of the reviews and all have good points and bad, some cons seem ridiculous while other have merit.

I want to start with the processor and a mother board. I want to be able to play games and create movies, and maybe do some coding if I have time. So that say you in terms of a processor/mother board.

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 8,839 posts
Hi there, :)