Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

XP Pro Disc To repair XP Home?

• Please log in to reply

Rikterscale

Rikterscale

• PipPip
  • 26 posts
Hey there. Can I use an XP Pro disc to repair my fathers unbootable XP Home computer?

I'm currently an IT student and finding this forum was an incredible thing for me. You guys rock!

Advertisements

Troy

Troy

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 8,841 posts
Hi Rikterscale, and welcome.

No you cannot do this, the disc must be the same to run a repair install.

Cheers

Troy

Rikterscale

Rikterscale

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
OK, thank you buddy.

Richard

hfcg

hfcg

The hippie freak computer geek

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,496 posts
Hello,
Can you give us some info on the issue that you are trying to fix?
If you just need the recovery console we can help with that.
Can the machine boot in to safe mode?
Do you get any error messeges?

Rikterscale

Rikterscale

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
No, cant boot into safe mode, last known good or anything like that. Once i hit last known good, it looks like its going to boot, then freezes on the blue windows screen before the login screen.

I'm in school for IT and my instructor informed me to do a repair just like the one described in the first pinned thread on this forum. He has XP home. Problem is I dont have an XP home disc, I just have the Pro.

Richard

jt1990

jt1990

Member 1K

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,519 posts