Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Building first computer, working out the kinks

• Please log in to reply

branders

branders

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Short version: problem with: BIOS?, hard drive, memory? (OS installed and apparently working, but buggy/choppy/freezing)

Hey guys, this is my first time posting in a computer help forum so I hope I give you all the information you might need, if not let me know and I can update later tonight.

I recently decided to build my first computer, and with some advice from my friends I researched all the parts and managed to get them together without breaking anything (as far as I can tell).

Slowly but surely, I've been able to get things to work but there are still some problems persisting that keep it from running smoothly. Currently the case is all assembled and there doesn't appear to be anything physically wrong with it, however when I go to start it up this is what happens:

1) The computer turns on, fans, lights, etc. seem to work but nothing comes on the screen for a little bit. Then either it restarts itself or I have to hit restart at which point it turns on and actually seems to boot.
2) First I get an error message about "previous overclock failed" (even though I'm not overclocking) I select reseting the BIOS and it starts booting again.
3) Next it gives me an error saying "hard drive not detected" and shoots back to the BIOS. I check all the BIOS settings- it can see the hard drive and list its specs.