Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

cd drives

• Please log in to reply

meem

meem

• PipPip
  • 28 posts
:) Hi i am a self taught oldish mum well 60 but young at heart.
Here is the problem i have 1 cd drive and 1Dvd drive,when i try to down load anything on to a Cd a message says please put a writeable cd in e-drive e-drive does nothing only plays Cds.
it will not down load to D drive but D-drive does burn cds off the hard drive :but will not recognise when downloading off my computer or photo's
Help Meem
straight forward if possible to answer

Advertisements

Neil Jones

Neil Jones

Member 5k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,476 posts
What symbols are on the front of the drives?
Sounds like you may only have a CD unit and not a CD writer.

meem

meem

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Sounds like you may only have a CD unit and not a CD write

HI NEIL,

Thank you for your reply i drive is a WRITEMASTER MULTI DVD AND CD WRITER,and i do burn cds for my family on this drive with Nero.and of course play music

Drive E IS A DVD MULTI RECORDER, I PLAY DVDS AND MUSIC .
What the problem is when i have saved anything in my documents,and you down load it to a cd which i have done numerous of times.
NOW IT SAYS PUT A RECORDABLE CD INTO E DRIVE NOT C DRIVE AS I ALWAYS USE BUT WHEN I TRY TO ALTER IT TO E-DRIVE NOTHING HAPPENS,SO BOTH DRIVES DO NOT RECORD FROM MY DOCUMENTS OR ANY OTHER PART OF THE COMPUTER,BUT LAST NIGHT I BURNT 8 CDS PERFECT.