Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Wanted: Forced Bedime software

• Please log in to reply

beethoven

beethoven

• PipPip
  • 92 posts
I'm looking for some sort of software that would force me to go to bed at specified times by completely locking the computer. I'm a college student, and I have discovered that I really need a way to be forced to sleep. A reminder isn't going to do the trick. I need something that will physically lock me out of my computer at a given time. I'd be working with my parents (nearby) in case of emergencies (a paper due or all night studying). I've done a lot of Googling, but I can't quite find what I'm looking for. All those shareware sites and private companies that show up are highly annoying.

What I need:
1. Free. We're broke. Maybe up to $10, but I'd *really* prefer for it to be freeware.

2. Switch user/Locking. In other words, not something that shuts down the computer or logs me off. My computer is slow (probably need to be visiting other subforums here, but it's not spyware), and it just takes too long to reboot the computer all the time. The preferred solution would be a window that pops up over everything else and requires the time to change or a password to go away. Alt+Tab proof. Taking me to the welcome screen would work too as long as my password won't work before, say, 6AM.

3. Ability to have different times depending on weekday.

4. Password override. In case of emergency I would be able to override it by getting the password from my parents.