Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

New to Access & DB

• Please log in to reply

gbowne1

gbowne1

• PipPip
  • 37 posts
Hi all!

I'm new to programming, DB's and Access. The only programming I have done is on rather ancient technology, mostly in BASIC, and it's variants like QBASIC, etc. I'd love to be able to learn how to do VB, C, C#, C++, ASP, .NET, etc.

I have the need to make a hobby-related database which contains data from 10-15 years of published data containing a small number of related fields. I tried to learn Assembly, like the type used in Microsoft Macro Assembler (MASM), but got stuck.

I also would like someone's help setting it up. I have Microsoft Office 2007.

Well, Initially the data will be for my own use. After a while, I may publish it to the web, or make it available as a download, or on disk.

The data comes from volumes of this book, from 1986-2009:

http://www.amazon.co...-...9465&sr=8-1

The data will be in the format: