Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

C drive clean

• Please log in to reply

meem

meem

• PipPip
  • 28 posts
can you clean the C drive on a computer????????and if yes how do you do it,a self taught mum with little knowledge of computer works.
I defrag and delete every week and on my C drive i have a 38.2GB. and 24.7 used with 13.4 free.this computer is 5 years old but it does me,i also have an external hard drive that i have not used yet.
Any ideas how to reduce disc space.i have put all photo's music to discs and use the computer every day. :) :) love healing and peace.
Meem.

Attached Files

Advertisements

1101doc

1101doc

Trusted Tech

• Retired Staff
  • 909 posts
Your external drive is the place to put all your personal data. Photos, music, videos, movies, documents of every kind- all the stuff that you really don't want to lose.

Most external USB drives are quite simple these days. If it has its own power supply plug it in and then connect the USB cable to the computer before turning it on. Some 'turn on' automatically when connected- that's fine.

Wait a bit to see if a ballon pops up about finding a new device. It will change to "your device is installed." Turn it on and wait again for the "...installed" balloon message.

If no balloon, turn it on. Then there will likely be one. Wait for it to change to "...installed," and then open "My computer. You should see a new drive listed. Likely it will be called "E."