Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows XP

• Please log in to reply

gorilla7875

gorilla7875

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
I have tried many different times to get my computer to boot up. I am a writer and all my college and book files are on the computer and I don't have a back up disc for any of it. I don't have boot up discs for the computer because Windows XP was on the computer when I bought it. The computer was fine and after I came home from vacation it wouldn't boot up. It brought me to a screen that stated there was a problem with Windows XP. I tried safe mode (with and without command prompt). It simply goes to a black screen. Now it's asking me for an administrators password in the recovery console. I tried pressing enter because there is none but it won't allow me into it regardless. I wanted to know if there was any way I could retrieve my files. I will preform a system recovery once I get my files but not before then because I have no back ups discs for that information. I just need to be able to get those files. I was told to bring my computer in to get them retrieved but the last time I did that there were several files they couldn't find and I was told I would have to re-pay them to go back into my computer to get the missed files. This is expensive and I honestly don't wish to have anyone digging around inside of my computer with incredibly important files aboard. Please...can anyone help me?

Advertisements

123Runner

123Runner

Member 4k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,527 posts
Is this a laptop or a desktop.