Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

various problems with xp

• Please log in to reply

newbomb

newbomb

• PipPip
  • 16 posts
Hello everyone

I was searching for help on the internet when I found this forum and am hoping somone can help. Im not very good at computer stuff so bear with me! My problem started with my gateway desktop with window xp taking forever to boot then going to a black screen and staying there. I didnt know what else to do so I formated and reinstalled everything from the 3 disks that came with the computer. I then put service pack 2 on. After the process everything seemed ok and I logged on the net and went to a couple sites to make sure it was working. It seemed to be faster than before and I was pleased. I left for a couple hours and when I came back on logged on I got the "network cable unplugged" message. I was going to create my own profile seperate from my wifes anyway so I did this and was able to get on the net through my new profile. I did some surfing and logged off, the next morning my wife wasnt able to get on the net from either profile and we only get the cable unplugged message over and over. I tried changeing my speed settings and that didnt work and searched all over the net while using my laptop on the same internet connection via wireless for answers and have tried everything but its still a no go. I plugged my ethernet cable into my laptop to check it and it worked so Its good. I thought I could pull my card out and reseat it but it appears to be soldered in place. Thinking it may be a virus pr