Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Would like to switch to Linux, but can't.

• Please log in to reply

Dreylivude

Dreylivude

• PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
Hey everyone.

I've been wanting to switch to Linux for quite some time, since it's faster, more secure, lots of free programs, etc.

It took me a while to get over the code hump. The gui's are nice but you still need to know some commands to get through, which is fine.

I was hoping to switch to linux as my main system and have a windows side for gaming. Problem. I'm a digital artist, and use Photoshop, Maya, and Mudbox on a regular basis. I know there are freeware alternatives to most of those, except for mudbox, but have had problems with their counterparts (eg: Wacom tablet pressure not being recognized in GIMP etc.) I managed to get a copy of maya for linux working on a Fedora system, but it was full of errors, and it's gui didn't seem to work quite right. Lots of hangups when minimized and maximized.

I've heard of wine for using windows programs in linux, but I also heard it doesn't work well for anything graphic intensive.

So I guess my question is, is there anyway I can go over to the linux side without sacrificing a lot, or am I doomed to clutches of windows forever? I'd be curious to hear the opinions of other digital artists who have dabbled in linux, or even if they managed to make the switch.

Let the discussion begin!

Advertisements

silverbeard

silverbeard

Trusted Tech

• PipPipPip
  • 791 posts