Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Complete loss of client machines networking


  • Please log in to reply

#16
peterm

peterm

    Trusted Tech

  • Technician
  • 3,173 posts
I know you said you ran the network wizard. Did you run it on computer A in the share my internet connection mode?
Either A has stopped being the dhcp server or Hub is set to allow 1 connection or hub has died.
Some ports do die on hubs - DO NOT go and buy a new hub, We have to make sure first.
May I hav the make and model of the hub.
Is the hub set for straight through or cross over.
I am still thinking that the problem is machine A as it is connected to Machine B via direct cable (cross over I hope)
And B can't connect so that should in theroy rule out Hub.
Have you tried a restore point on A to a time when it was working?.
If you do a restore you do not loose any current data and you can undo the restore
Cheers
Peterm

Edited by peterm, 08 January 2009 - 03:08 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#17
peterm

peterm

    Trusted Tech

  • Technician
  • 3,173 posts
Any Luck ?
  • 0

#18
cks101

cks101

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
Sorry Peterm,

I've been waiting for a reply from you for days! only to just realise today that the reply was on the next topic page :)

OK, it can't be the hub as i have 2 exactly the same and neither seem to work, i've aslo tried them on 'normal' and 'uplink' settings. I'm also positive i tried system restore on computer A to a previous date to when it was working, but will try again to a date way before christmas, maybe this will help sort the problem?

The Hubs are both Netgear 4 port hubs, the first is model number DS104 (dual speed) and the second is FE104 (fast ethernet).

I've been wondering if there is a way to delete all network information from the computer, like removing any history or stored info that is left behind even after uninstall of the ethernet connections?

cheers,

Edited by cks101, 09 January 2009 - 01:06 AM.

  • 0

#19
cks101

cks101

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
Hi Peterm,

That seems to have done the trick :)

I system restored the PC back a couple of weeks, plugged the cables back into the correct places, unplugged the dsl modem, then re-plug for connection to computer A. Then had to network connection wizard the laptop downstairs, restart the laptop, retart desktop A (unplugging the dsl modem again), after both machines restarted, all connections worked :).

Just want to say, thanks very much for all your time, it's been very much appreciated and glad that everything is back up and running as it was.

excellent! :)

cheers!

Edited by cks101, 09 January 2009 - 03:33 AM.

  • 0

#20
peterm

peterm

    Trusted Tech

  • Technician
  • 3,173 posts
I was just posting a reply to try something new when I noticed you are going.
Glad to help. Sorry it took so long.
Maybe since everrthing is ok you should make a retore point on all computers.
Cheers
Peterm
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP