Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Total Lockup While Gaming

• Please log in to reply

Holkeye

Holkeye

• PipPip
  • 37 posts

Hello,

I just bought and built a new system after Christmas, and it's wonderful, except for one huge glaring problem. During gameplay, my entire system randomly locks up. It doesn't restart, it doesn't shut down, it just freezes, and nothing can get it to stop other than restarting the whole computer. Sometimes I can play for an hour before it happens, and sometimes it happens after 3 minutes. I'm relatively new at the whole putting-together-my-own-computer game, so I've been doing a lot of research. The first thing that I've found, is that many people who have this problem are told to run a test on their RAM. So, I went and made a boot disk of Memtest86+. I ran that, and it froze about five minutes in. This led me to think that my RAM is indeed the trouble, so I made a boot disk of Microsoft's Memory Test, just to be sure. This ran through a full pass with no problems. (Granted, the test couldn't check my entire RAM, because I have 4GB, but am running Windows32, so it only shows up as about 3.5) After this was finished, I re-booted with the Memtest86+ disk. Once again, lockup at 5:33. This time, I wrote down the test results at lockup. I present them to you here:

Posted Image

Whew. So, my questions are:

What should my next step/steps be?
What else could it be, besides a RAM problem?

Oh, and my sysspecs:

Windows: Windows XP5.1 (Build 2600) Service Pack 3
Memory (RAM): 3327 MB