Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Cannot Open Volume for Direct Acess, should I unmount?


  • Please log in to reply

#1
superlox3

superlox3

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
Hello,

I've tried to run chkdsk multiple times and I continue to get the error message: "Cannot open volume for direct access".

I've seen elsewhere in the forum that it has been recommended to type chkdsk c: /r /x, which unmounts the drive before running chkdsk.

I was wondering if there are any risks that I might run by doing this or if there is another solution to the problem. Any help would be appreciated.

I am running on Windows XP, service pack 3.

Thanks,
-superlox3
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
back up your data first...then run chkdsk...

Running chkdsk on your Windows XP or 2000 system can most often repair numerous minor Windows problems you may have experienced . Many people regularly run chkdsk as a part of their overall computer maintenance plan.


1. Click the Start button then select Run
2. In the Run window's Open box, type cmd ...
3. Click OK and an MS-DOS-style black screen will appear in a new window
4. Run chkdsk by typing the following command where the cursor is blinking:
a. chkdsk c: /f /r and then press Enter...

5. a message will appear that says:"chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another process. Would you like to schedule this volume to be checked the next time the system restarts? <y/n>"
6. Type y (for "yes") and then press Enter...
7. A message will appear that will say: "This volume will be checked the next time the system restarts"
8. Type exit and then press Enter... to close the MS-DOS-style black screen window
9. Reboot (restart) the computer as you normally would and chkdsk will automatically begin running after your reboot While chkdsk is running, you will see a light blue window with a dark blue band at the top and bottom. Chkdsk will display the specific stage it is checking as well as the percentage of completion of the stage. You cannot do anything else on your computer while chkdsk is running. When chkdsk is finished, it will automatically reboot your computer.

For more information about chkdsk, visit the Microsoft site here ..

Notes: it will sometimes get to say 70 % and then jump back to say 50 %...thats ok just let it run.....this can take a long time to complete...
there are 5 steps and it may seem to hang at a certain % for a hour or more...thats normal...just let it run
  • 0

#3
superlox3

superlox3

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
Thank you, but now I'm wondering about what you're typing in to the MS-DOS type window.

I know that chkdsk runs chkdsk, and that c: specifies the drive, but what does /f do?

Sorry to be a hassle, but I really would prefer to know what I'm typing in.

-superlox3
  • 0

#4
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
chkdsk /f is an option to fix the errors on your computer...
the /r switch Locates bad sectors and recovers readable information....
for all the switch's go here...

Edited by happyrock, 11 January 2009 - 11:33 AM.

  • 0

#5
superlox3

superlox3

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
I typed "chkdsk c: /f /r" and ran the chkdsk, but I got the same error. I've read elsewhere on the forum that typing /x (dismounting the drives before checking) can solve this but I was wondering if there are any risks associated with dismounting the drives.

Could this in any way harm my computer or files? And if I want to run it, would I type "chkdsk c: /f /r /x"?

Thanks for any help you can give,

-superlox3
  • 0

#6
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
if you had read thru the link I gave you....you would have found this...
/X ... Forces the volume to dismount first if necessary.THIS IS FOR NTFS only
saving both of us some time...
CHKDSK DOES NOT CARE ABOUT YOUR DATA...
the switch /R Locates bad sectors and recovers readable information.

Edited by happyrock, 12 January 2009 - 07:22 PM.

  • 0

#7
superlox3

superlox3

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
First off, I have NTFS. Also, /r is very good and all IF IT WOULD WORK!
My chkdsk DOES NOT RUN.

-superlox3
  • 0

#8
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
The chkdsk command requires the file Autochk.exe. If it cannot find it in the startup directory
C:\windows\System32....chkdsk will not run
look and see if its there...
if not you will need to runsfc /scannow
  • 0

#9
superlox3

superlox3

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
I checked and it still is there.
Do you have any other ideas to why it may not be working?

-superlox3
  • 0

#10
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
look at screenshot...have you tried it this way yet...
no joy...
you have 2 choices...a repair like here... or sfc /scannow...the downside to both of these options is you will have to reinstall ALL the updates again...
  • 0

#11
superlox3

superlox3

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
I've tried it the second way (shown in the picture), and it didn't work.
Just to be sure on repairing the operating system though; I'll be reverted to SP1, and will just have to reinstall all of the updates? Does that also mean that I'll have to reinstall any additional drivers that I've installed in the past?

-superlox3
  • 0

#12
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
yep on the updates...
nope on the drivers

Edited by happyrock, 13 January 2009 - 07:50 AM.

  • 0

#13
superlox3

superlox3

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
And is it the same thing with running sfc /scannow as running the repair?
(That is, I'll have to re-update all the service packs and updates but my drivers, files and programs will stay intact)

-superlox3
  • 0

#14
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
yep and yep
  • 0

#15
superlox3

superlox3

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
Ok, I'll be sure to try that out.
Thanks a ton for all your help!

-superlox3
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP