Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Hard Drive - can not read after freeze ups and trying to reformat

• Please log in to reply

COOKJAN

COOKJAN

• Pip
  • 9 posts
This is my first post on this site. I have some knowledge of computers and programs and have worked on them for some time, but now I am really stuck.

I have a computer that started to freeze continuously after a period of time of running great. There is some history of my attempts to fix the problem which I will try and explain to the best of my ability.

This computer originally was used at my office. My boss always gave me the computers we were replacing and if the computer was really bad I extracted any parts that were any good, secure erased the hard drive if it was bad and got rid of it and kept any good cards etc.

This drive was originally on ME with an upgrade to Windows Xp loaded over it. I secure erased the drive with my Drive Works program to remove any work files and then proceeded to partition and format the drive and toggled the boot to work. I have used this program several times and it works great. I wanted to make the OS XP. My cd was an upgrade so I started with the XP, inserted the ME cd at the proper time and reinserted the XP cd. I reformatted the drive to NTFS using the XP cd and went ahead with the install. All worked fine as usual when I use Drive Works.