Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

very weak signal help

• Please log in to reply

wtfdissux

wtfdissux

• Pip
  • 3 posts
I just got a laptop so I can take my diagnostic programs and trouble shooters to work (I am a mechanic by trade) and if I stand right in one of the bay doors I get a very weak signal (I happen to know where it is coming from, a restaurant in the next plaza) but at my toolbox or work bench nothing and the signal at the bay doors is only2-4 dB is there any way that I can boost the signal reception at my end ( a high gain antenea or reciever amp for e.g.)
I am trying to do this using the free signal already there instead of paying for a new service if it comes to that I will just go back to the old way of doing all the research at home and then bring it in on my laptop the next day but it really slows things down

Advertisements

Dan

Dan

Trusted Tech

• Retired Staff
  • 1,771 posts

I am trying to do this using the free signal already there instead of paying for a new service

An unsecured network doesn't necessarily means it's "free". Have you spoken with the restaurant owners to determine if you're permitted to use their network signal? "Leeching" from an unsecured network is actually illegal, and we will not assist you in doing so.

- Dan

Major Payne

Major Payne

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 5,307 posts