Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

IE window opens at Windows startup

• Please log in to reply

BKB

BKB

• Pip
  • 9 posts
I hope I used the right forum catagory for this problem.
Problem: IE6.0 browser window now opens as part of Windows startup.
This is a residual symptom of being infected by the CoolWebSearch (about blank) variant spyware.
I've run a spyware removal program and used some free ones to double check for problems.
Everything seems to be fixed at this point(home page, pop ups etc).
This is the only remaining problem.
I'm a computer novice but I suspect there is still some line of registry code or perhaps something in autostart that was changed that causes this problem.
The IE browser window now opens as part of each Windows startup.
Is there any easy way to fix this? I'm using Windows 98 SE.

Advertisements

SA_Max71

SA_Max71

• PipPip
  • 20 posts
Chances are good internet explorer is being opened up because there is a shortcut to it in your startup folder, or it is the run section of your registry. I think I will let one of the tech(ies) here deal with the registry.

Go to: "start" ---> programs ---> startup . If there is a shortcut to internet explorer there, then right click on it, and then click on "delete". When it asks you for to confirm deleting it, say yes. This should take care of your problem. Why? Any shortcuts that are in your start up folder will run when windows starts up. (Note: do not delete this folder - ever. The last time I deleted this folder, windows stopped working until I restored this folder.)