Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

How to create Workgroup with a Wifi Router


  • Please log in to reply

#16
Dan

Dan

    Trusted Tech

  • Retired Staff
  • 1,771 posts
Hm, are you sure you have SP2 installed on the desktop? Try download and run the automated tool -- WinsockXPFix -- only run this on the desktop. You may wish to create a registry backup first (it can be done from within that tool) -- just to be safe :)
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
paysismom

paysismom

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
yup. it's SP2 :) I rechecked it again :)

Anyway, I've backed up registry files and clicked on the Fix button on the WinsockXPFix. Already rebooted the desktop :)



EDIT

I checked the workgroup on both computers. I can see the laptop's sharing folder already! On the laptop though, I still can't see the desktop.

Edited by paysismom, 19 February 2009 - 02:19 AM.

  • 0

#18
paysismom

paysismom

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
dan,

Desktop Workgroup: I can see both computers
Desktop Local Network: I can see the files that has sharing-enabled

Laptop Workgroup: I can see both computers, but I cannot access the desktop computer.
Latptop Local Network: I don't see the Desktop Computers Sharing-enabled files.
  • 0

#19
Dan

Dan

    Trusted Tech

  • Retired Staff
  • 1,771 posts
[EDIT] I didn't see your second post; give me a second please. Doing the steps below won't hurt either way.

Excellent; at least there's been a change (hopefully indicating progress :)). On the desktop, can you only see it's shared folder, or can you actually access it? On both machines, can you please do the following (let's see what's changed):
  • Press Start
  • Select Run
  • Type cmd and press OK
  • In the new command prompt window, type nbtstat -n
  • Right-click on the command prompt window, select Select All and then press the ENTER key on your keyboard; this will copy the text; you should now be able to paste it into your next response. Please do so.
On the laptop, please do the following:
  • Press Start
  • Select Run
  • Type cmd and press OK
  • In the new command prompt window, type ping DANIEL
  • Once the above command completes, type ping 192.168.1.100
  • Once it's done, right-click on the command prompt window, select Select All and then press the ENTER key on your keyboard; this will copy the text; you should now be able to paste it into your next response. Please do so.

Edited by Dan, 19 February 2009 - 02:28 AM.

  • 0

#20
Dan

Dan

    Trusted Tech

  • Retired Staff
  • 1,771 posts
From the laptop, when you try to access the desktop, do you get an error message? Can you please post that error message (i.e. access denied?).
  • 0

#21
paysismom

paysismom

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
Desktop results

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
© Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Daniel Tan>nbtstat -n

Local Area Connection 2:
Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

No names in cache

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.100] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
DANIEL <00> UNIQUE Registered
HOME <00> GROUP Registered
DANIEL <20> UNIQUE Registered
HOME <1E> GROUP Registered

C:\Documents and Settings\Daniel Tan>
  • 0

#22
paysismom

paysismom

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
Laptop Results

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
© Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Valued client>nbtstat -n

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

No names in cache

Wireless Network Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.101] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
LAPTOP <00> UNIQUE Registered
HOME <00> GROUP Registered
LAPTOP <20> UNIQUE Registered
HOME <1E> GROUP Registered
HOME <1D> UNIQUE Registered
..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

C:\Documents and Settings\Valued client>
  • 0

#23
paysismom

paysismom

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
LAPTOP PING RESULTS

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
© Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Valued client>ping DANIEL

Pinging DANIEL [192.168.1.100] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.100: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.100: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.100: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.100: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.100:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Valued client>ping 192.168.1.100

Pinging 192.168.1.100 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.100: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.100: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.100: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.100: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.100:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 2ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 2ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Valued client>
  • 0

#24
paysismom

paysismom

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts

From the laptop, when you try to access the desktop, do you get an error message? Can you please post that error message (i.e. access denied?).



This is the error message when I'm trying to access the Desktop computer from the Laptop.


\\Daniel is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions. Logon failure: the user has not been granted the requested logon type at this computer.
  • 0

#25
Dan

Dan

    Trusted Tech

  • Retired Staff
  • 1,771 posts
Okay, looks like things are flowing a lot smoother now.

I'm going to get you to make a registry change on your desktop; you backed up your registry a few minutes ago with WinsockXPFix, so if anything goes wrong, we can recover quite easily. With that said, please follow the instructions carefully.

On the Desktop computer:
  • Select Start
  • Press Run
  • Type regedit and click OK.
  • Navigate to the following key (it's a lot like using Explorer):
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control
  • Now, click on Lsa once (you don't need to expand it, but it doesn't matter if you do; however just make sure you have selected Lsa -- i.e. it's highlighted :))
  • You should now see a list of items in the right-hand panel; look for restrictanonymous (note: there's also restrictanonymoussam -- so don't get them mixed up).
  • Right-click on restrictanonymous and select Modify..
  • In the new box, change the number in the Value data box to 0 and then click OK.
  • Close the registry editor and then restart your computer -- try to connect from the laptop now; can you?

  • 0

Advertisements


#26
paysismom

paysismom

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
still the same error message :)
  • 0

#27
Dan

Dan

    Trusted Tech

  • Retired Staff
  • 1,771 posts
Try this on the desktop:
  • Press Start
  • Select Run
  • Type cmd and press OK
  • In the new command prompt window, type net user guest /active:yes
  • Restart the desktop and try to access it again; can you?

  • 0

#28
paysismom

paysismom

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
it said completed successfully, restarted the desktop but:

still can't access it. same error message.


EDIT

by the way, noticed a big difference in speed in my connection after the winsockxpfix thing, I double checked on speedtest.net, the speed doubled! is it because of the fix? can I do that with the laptop? hehehe. Sorry for the OT, just had to share :)

Edited by paysismom, 19 February 2009 - 03:22 AM.

  • 0

#29
Dan

Dan

    Trusted Tech

  • Retired Staff
  • 1,771 posts
Please download and install Windows Server 2003 Resource Kit Tools (it is compatible for both Windows XP and Vista). Once it is installed, please do the following:
  • Press Start
  • Select Run
  • Type cmd and press OK
  • In the new command prompt window, type these commands:
    ntrights +r SeNetworkLogonRight -u Guest
    ntrights +r SeNetworkLogonRight -u Everyone
    ntrights -r SeDenyNetworkLogonRight -u Guest
    ntrights -r SeDenyNetworkLogonRight -u Everyone
  • Try to access the desktop from the laptop now; can you? If not, restart the desktop and try again.
And yes, you are more than welcome to run WinsockXPFix on the laptop, although the commands I had you run were the equivalent.
  • 0

#30
paysismom

paysismom

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
It worked! I can access the desktop computer now!

Thank you so much dan! I really appreciate it :)

Thanks also to geekstogo for this forum. More power and God bless!


p.s. I didn't do the winsockxpfix thing on the laptop, tried speedtest and the speed improved already, thanks again Dan :)
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP