Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

SCSI not installed...about to uninstall my BRAIN

• Please log in to reply

Too Stupid 4 This

Too Stupid 4 This

• Pip
  • 6 posts
java script:add_smilie(":)","smid_24")Ok, so I started playing with an old Dell PowerEdge 2300 at work. We need to have a very basic FTP server for clients to send files to, and this is an entirely different thread!

Had Win NT on it, had NEVER been online until I got a hold of it! Ran all the updates and SPs etc, etc, etc. Then realized I couldn't find a remote desktop software that would work with NT, Macs apparently didn't like to connect to the FTP, etc, etc, etc. Well I have a copy of Server 2003, so I was going to install that, CD Drive won't work... Wrote and iso, and ran install from the drive (this worked fine), but it installed it on the E: partition of the drive.java script:add_smilie(":)","smid_42") I wanted it on C:. So I tried, a couple of things, copied entire contents of C to a folder on E (back up!!). Then looked at the partition, it was too small to fit '03 on it. Couldn't figure out how to add a couple hundred MB to the partition, so gave up. Did a re-boot and this is the results of that:

When Powered up it give all the Dell Info, gives me the options of the CTRL-ALT-ENTER and CTRL-ALT-F10,
Runs an extended memory check,
Initializes Firware and checks the 15 SCSI
Spins the drives
finds 1 logical drive found on the host adapter
1 logical drive handled by BIOS
AIC 7890
No SCSI Boot Device FOund
SCSI BIOS Not Installed
AIC-7860