Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Computer wont turn on

• Please log in to reply

Oddysee

Oddysee

Spammer

• Banned
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
My computer, the tower won’t turn on at all. No fans, lights, nothing. About a month ago the computer turned off and I couldn't turn it back on. Then after 5 minutes it worked again.

I tested the leads. The power supply and the switch (switched them both over with a working computer I have)

I would call myself an advanced user. However I am not a pro like quite a lot of people on here. I'm guessing it's the motherboard. Anyone have any ideas?

The computer is 6 years old.

The specs of my computer:

120 GB hard drive
1.25GB DDR Ram
CDRW
DVD ROM
Intel Pentium 4
Motherboard is unknown

This computer is perfect for what I use it for. Mainly E-mails, On-line shopping, Sports forums etc. If it is the motherboard. I would like to replace it myself. I don't want to send it to a computer shop because I know they will charge over £100 to replace a motherboard. As the computer is at least 6 years old. Could someone suggest a cheap but decent motherboard for my spec? Thanks in advance!

Edited by Oddysee, 14 March 2009 - 02:48 PM.

Advertisements

makai

makai

Portlock - Oahu

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,793 posts

<snip>... and the switch

What switch is this? Are you saying you took the Power-on switch from the computer case and tested it in another computer?

Oddysee

Oddysee

Spammer

• Topic Starter
  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts