Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Vista Downgrade problems

• Please log in to reply

Ali1234

Ali1234

• PipPip
  • 37 posts
Hi guys,

I'm new here and hopeful that here I will find a soloution. I am a complete computer rookie and have no technical experience so if anyone does have a solution please explain in simplest terms! I will explain my predicement in as detailed way as I can.
Heres the situation: My previous laptop (Inspiron 1501) with XP literally fell apart after 2.5 years good service. In that time I had fallen in love with XP, so when we had to buy a new laptop (the lovley Inspiron 1545) that came with Vista pre installed I was anxious about it.
I find Vista annoying, too flashy, slow and un-user friendly. Thats maybe because I have been so used to XP, but after about 3 weeks of battling with it, I have decided that I have to downgrade to XP. I dug out my XP disc, put it in, and booted the laptop with it. It appeared to all be working- until it said 'Setup is starting Windows' and after a few seconds it went to a BSOD (Stop: 0x0000007B i think). This always happens. I have tried a BIOS update from Dell support, searching the Web for hours at a time for a solution, and Diagnostics twice. As a last resort we are going to try and take it to PC World to see if they have any ideas.

Is there anything I can do to fix this? Am I doing anything wrong?

Thanks very much for your time,

Ali

Advertisements

makai

makai

Portlock - Oahu

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,793 posts