Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Building My First Gaming PC

• Please log in to reply

Source2007

Source2007

• Pip
  • 3 posts
I'm an amateur to building PC's, but I have a slightly more knowledgeable friend who could help in the actual putting together process. Unfortunately, I am not a rich man and in these times, my budget is very tight. I'm hoping to get the parts I need for around $400. I intend to use my old hard drive, cd and optical drives, and case. This leaves me in need of a new PSU, mobo, CPU, RAM, and VGA. I'm trying to put it all together in a very old Dell case and it might not all fit, but I'll deal with that if the problem comes up. After a bit of research, this is what I have so far:

mobo: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813128372

CPU: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819115206

RAM: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820231122

VGA: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814131129

PSU: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817702008

My friend helped me pick out those parts, but with shipping and tax, $483 is still slightly above my budget. I was hoping for some help slashing costs, maybe some combo deals on newegg. I would do it myself but I know so little about building a PC that I'm not sure the parts I picked would work well together or even be compatible. Also if these parts aren't favorable, any help picking new ones would be greatly appreciated.

Advertisements

kamille316

kamille316

• PipPipPip
  • 604 posts