Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Creating Recovery Disks

• Please log in to reply

drmoneejd

drmoneejd

• PipPipPip
  • 220 posts
I have been using my computer for about a couple months now. everything is new, except my hard drive, and i sadly think its dying. but as i anticipate the buying of a new hard drive, i find that i forgot to make some recovery disks. However, i dont have any recovery software to make them, except the backup utility on XP. Can anyone help me find a quick free recovery disk burner or tell me how to do it with the backup utility?

Advertisements

Neil Jones

Neil Jones

Member 5k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,476 posts
Branded computers usually provide some sort of utility to make the restore disks which should be floating about somewhere on the Start Menu.
Of course if you've replaced the hard drive and used a standard Windows CD to put Windows back on, it's most likely wiped out your recovery partition so there is nothing to make such disks from. In this situation your Windows CD is your recovery CD.

drmoneejd

drmoneejd

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 220 posts
Thanks. yeah, thats what i figured, but i built my computer, so i guess ill just have to buy some software...

Broni

Broni

Kraków my love :)

• 12,300 posts
Acronis True Image: http://www.acronis.com/ - not free, but the best

Free alternatives:
- DriveImage XML: http://www.runtime.o...veimage-xml.htm
- SelfImage: http://www.excelcia....N...icle&sid=21
- Macrium Reflect: http://www.macrium.com/ReflectFree.asp

drmoneejd

drmoneejd