Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

stop error 0x000000a


  • Please log in to reply

#1
mccarter

mccarter

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
Yesterday I received the following error code (BSOD) while running Google Earth:

IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
***stop: 0x0000000A (0x93610680, 0x00000002, 0x00000000, 0x80522600)

I can run in safe mode, but I cannot uninstall Google Earth to see if that was the problem. Initially when trying to uninstall it, Windows Installer was not working, but through searching the internet I found the code for the registry to allow Windows Installer to run. But now when I try to uninstall it, I get the following: "One or more customizations are not permitted by software restriction policy". I have checked the software restriction policy and all are unrestricted. How do I get the unistall to work in safe mode? Google Earth may not be the problem, but it's the only place I know to start since the error code did not give me a driver name or anything other than the code. I have already tried disabling all services (except microsoft ones) and startup apps and that did not allow me to do a normal mode boot. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
try SafeMSI.zip....get it here Unzip it to your desktop.... you should see SafeMSI.exe...reboot into safe mode

To use SafeMSI.exe when booted to Safe Mode on any version of Windows NT Windows 2000, Windows XP... just double-click to run it..
you should now be able to install or uninstall programs while in safe mode...
  • 0

#3
mccarter

mccarter

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
Thanks for the info, but unfortunately safemsi did not work. I still get the "one or more customizations are not permitted by software restriction policy" error even though when I ran the safemsi file, it said that the Windows Installer was enabled. I even tried to uninstall another program other than Google Earth and got the same error. Any other possible solutions? Thanks again.
  • 0

#4
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
are you on a admin account...
  • 0

#5
mccarter

mccarter

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
I am the administrator so I was pretty sure that I set up my account with all privileges but just to make sure, I just logged off and logged back on as the administrator and got the same error message about software restriction policy. Thanks.
  • 0

#6
Broni

Broni

    Kraków my love :)

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,300 posts
Check here: http://forums.techgu...policies-2.html
Start with the post #22.,
  • 0

#7
mccarter

mccarter

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
Broni, I tried all of the suggestions from the posts you said to look at and I still cannot get the uninstaller to work. I added the logging item for the windows installer to the registry as one of the posts mentioned and the contents are listed below. For some reason I couldn't get it to attach to my post so I cut and pasted it. I couldn't get the "subinacl" file to run and it gave me the following error: "The system administrator has set policies to prevent this installation". I even ran the code that supposedly resets the registry to default and if it actually reset the registry (not sure that it did since the command window closed automatically when it finished resetting it), it didn't fix the software policy error that I'm getting. Could Google Earth be the reason that I'm getting the stop error (BSOD) or am I on a wild goose chase trying to uninstall it and then that not be the problem? But I guess since I can't uninstall, there may be other issues too. Thanks for your help.




msi log follows:

=== Verbose logging started: 3/22/2009 15:52:03 Build type: SHIP UNICODE 3.01.4001.5512 Calling process: C:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe ===
MSI © (D0:9C) [15:52:03:875]: Resetting cached policy values
MSI © (D0:9C) [15:52:03:875]: Machine policy value 'Debug' is 0
MSI © (D0:9C) [15:52:03:875]: ******* RunEngine:
******* Product: {1D14373E-7970-4F2F-A467-ACA4F0EA21E3}
******* Action:
******* CommandLine: **********
MSI © (D0:9C) [15:52:03:875]: Client-side and UI is none or basic: Running entire install on the server.
MSI © (D0:9C) [15:52:03:875]: Grabbed execution mutex.
MSI © (D0:9C) [15:52:03:921]: Cloaking enabled.
MSI © (D0:9C) [15:52:03:921]: Attempting to enable all disabled priveleges before calling Install on Server
MSI © (D0:9C) [15:52:03:937]: Incrementing counter to disable shutdown. Counter after increment: 0
MSI (s) (38:18) [15:52:03:953]: Grabbed execution mutex.
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:03:953]: Resetting cached policy values
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:03:953]: Machine policy value 'Debug' is 0
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:03:953]: ******* RunEngine:
******* Product: {1D14373E-7970-4F2F-A467-ACA4F0EA21E3}
******* Action:
******* CommandLine: **********
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:03:953]: Machine policy value 'DisableUserInstalls' is 0
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:03:953]: End dialog not enabled
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:03:953]: Original package ==> C:\WINDOWS\Installer\c2c93.msi
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:03:953]: Package we're running from ==> C:\WINDOWS\Installer\c2c93.msi
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:03:968]: APPCOMPAT: looking for appcompat database entry with ProductCode '{1D14373E-7970-4F2F-A467-ACA4F0EA21E3}'.
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:03:968]: APPCOMPAT: no matching ProductCode found in database.
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:03:968]: MSCOREE not loaded loading copy from system32
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:03:968]: Machine policy value 'DisablePatch' is 0
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:03:968]: Machine policy value 'AllowLockdownPatch' is 0
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:03:968]: Machine policy value 'DisableLUAPatching' is 0
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:03:968]: Machine policy value 'DisableFlyWeightPatching' is 0
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:03:968]: Looking for file transform: C:\WINDOWS\Installer\{1D14373E-7970-4F2F-A467-ACA4F0EA21E3}\1033.MST
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:04:000]: File will have security applied from OpCode.
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:04:015]: Original transform ==> C:\WINDOWS\Installer\{1D14373E-7970-4F2F-A467-ACA4F0EA21E3}\1033.MST
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:04:015]: Transform we're running from ==> C:\WINDOWS\Installer\264b19.mst
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:04:015]: SOFTWARE RESTRICTION POLICY: Verifying transform --> 'C:\WINDOWS\Installer\{1D14373E-7970-4F2F-A467-ACA4F0EA21E3}\1033.MST' against software restriction policy
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:04:015]: Note: 1: 2262 2: DigitalSignature 3: -2147287038
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:04:015]: SOFTWARE RESTRICTION POLICY: C:\WINDOWS\Installer\{1D14373E-7970-4F2F-A467-ACA4F0EA21E3}\1033.MST is not digitally signed
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:04:031]: SOFTWARE RESTRICTION POLICY: SaferComputeTokenFromLevel reported failure. Assuming untrusted. . . (GetLastError returned 31)
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:04:031]: The installation of C:\WINDOWS\Installer\{1D14373E-7970-4F2F-A467-ACA4F0EA21E3}\1033.MST is not permitted due to an error in software restriction policy processing. The object cannot be trusted.

MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:04:031]: Note: 1: 1708
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:04:031]: Note: 1: 2729
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:04:031]: Note: 1: 2729
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:04:031]: Product: Google Earth -- Installation failed.

MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:04:031]: Attempting to delete file C:\WINDOWS\Installer\264b19.mst
MSI (s) (38:98) [15:52:04:031]: MainEngineThread is returning 1644
One or more customizations are not permitted by software restriction policy.
C:\WINDOWS\Installer\{1D14373E-7970-4F2F-A467-ACA4F0EA21E3}\1033.MST
MSI © (D0:9C) [15:52:04:031]: Decrementing counter to disable shutdown. If counter >= 0, shutdown will be denied. Counter after decrement: -1
MSI © (D0:9C) [15:52:04:031]: MainEngineThread is returning 1644
=== Verbose logging stopped: 3/22/2009 15:52:04 ===
  • 0

#8
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
you need to run sfc /scannow...
if you don't have a xp cd you will have to borrow one from a friend or coworker...
it has to be the same flavor of xp you have installed...IE: if you have xp pro...the one you borrow has to be xp pro

How to use Scannow sfc...

The main reason for using this utility is when you suspect there may be a problem with a Windows XP system file.

It is therefore worth checking to see if there are any corrupt system files using scannow sfc.

To do this click on start...run...then type in...sfc /scannow

This command will immediately initiate the Windows File Protection service to scan all protected files and verify their integrity, replacing any files with which it finds a problem.
  • 0

#9
mccarter

mccarter

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
Happyrock, I tried the sfc /scannow using the "run" window and a window popped up real fast and then went away. I then tried it from the command line and got the following error: "Windows File Protection could not initiate a scan of protected system files. The specific error code is 0x000006ba [The RPC server is unavailable]". I checked the services and RPC says it is started. I wasn't sure if RPC Locator should be running for sfc to work, but it says that RPC Locator will not run in safe mode. Any ideas? Thanks.
  • 0

#10
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
go back to services.msc and make sure workstation is set to automatic..if its started already ...stop it and restart it...
then try sfc again
FOR THE FUTURE right click on any service and then dependencies...it will tell you what you need to start...

Edited by happyrock, 22 March 2009 - 07:00 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#11
mccarter

mccarter

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
Happyrock, I tried this but it didn't work either. The RPC that you had highlighted in the screen capture is the RPC Locator and apparently doesn't have to run for RPC to work. However, I did look at the dependencies for RPC and there is a lot of them and the majority of them will not run in safe mode. UUUGGH!! I'm all ears if you've got any more suggestions.
  • 0

#12
Broni

Broni

    Kraków my love :)

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,300 posts
Navigate to: C:\Windows\Minidump folder.
If you see any .dmp files, zip all of them, and attach zipped file to your next reply.
  • 0

#13
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
can you boot into normal mode at all...
try system restore...
  • 0

#14
mccarter

mccarter

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
I believe I figured out the problem. It was a bad RAM stick. I could not get into normal mode and had already tried system restore. I started getting the BSOD even in safe mode and based off of those new error codes (0x00000050 ntfs.sys page_fault_in_paged_area and 0x0000004e pfn_list_corrupt) I was able to determine that it was bad RAM. I removed one of the 512 MB RAM sticks and it booted into normal mode. It was a lot slower, but it booted. So I took the opportunity to upgrade to 2GB of RAM today and now it seems to be running OK. Some software seems to not want to run so some things may have gotten corrupted so I may have to reinstall them. Is that common with memory failure? Thanks again for all the help. This one had me baffled. I've never had memory go bad.
  • 0

#15
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts

Some software seems to not want to run so some things may have gotten corrupted so I may have to reinstall them. Is that common with memory failure?

nope...Ram is volatile memory...means as soon as you turn off the power everything that is there is gone...
so any programs not working right should be reinstalled...
what programs are having issues with anyway...
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP