Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

program files

• Please log in to reply

dukesoz

dukesoz

• Pip
  • 5 posts
hi all, i did a search on my puter for programs as it was running slow. it came up with 1971 files.
how can i tell which to delete and which to keep?
also some are in blue text,why is this?
i hope someone can help me, as i am a newbie to this side of things.

regards dukesoz

Advertisements

Ferrari

Ferrari

PC SURGEON

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,939 posts
I think this article is what you need. This is by Artellos, a trusted tech here.

Take a look at this article by Artellos. What makes your machine slow? The recommendations can really improve speed and performance.

The ATF Cleaner he recommends will get rid of all the files you don't need.

Let me know if you have any questions after reading the guide.

Good Luck!

dukesoz

dukesoz

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
thanks ferrari, i have read that post, but it does not relate to my question.

regards dukesoz

Ferrari

Ferrari

PC SURGEON

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,939 posts

i did a search on my puter for programs as it was running slow. it came up with 1971 files

According to this statement by you, I get the impression that your computer is running slow. That article will speed your computer up dramatically and also tells you to delete old programs you don't use.

The ATF Cleaner will clean all temporary files, temp internet files, indexed files, prefetch folder and more.