Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Computer Will NOT Start!

• Please log in to reply

LumpyNutz

LumpyNutz

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Hello my fellow geeks. Im not very good at hardware or software issues so please help me with this one.

Heres how my recent frustration began:
I was messing around in windows the other day and I found this tool to add a "partition" to my hard drive. Being an idiot and not knowing what I was doing I went ahead and added a new partition thinking "whats the harm?". And thats when everything got fed up. I'm not saying this is the definite cause to my problem but this is the last thing I did when my computer was last working.

Now this is my problem:
I shut my computer down after the partition and the next day I went to turn on the computer and on the black boot screen it says "Disk boot failure, insert system disk and press Enter". I checked all drives and flash usb slots cus it used to do this to me when I forgot to take out a flash drive after a reboot but there was nothing. So I went to BIOS and checked everything and changed a lot of stuff around and tried and tried again to boot up but still the same problem. So I'm thinking the newly installed partition could be the problem but I'm not sure, and I tried to delete the partition but I don't know where to do this. I have a XP disk but I rly dont want to do a complete reinstall of my hard drive.

Please anyone who can give me some step my step instructions or any idea how I could fix this it would make me so happy this is bs and I dont know what to do. PLZ HELP!