Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Startup account problem


  • Please log in to reply

#16
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Right, if you log into your account can you change the ghost account, turn it off, or delete it?
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
dkellermann

dkellermann

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
Nope - it doesn't show up - not even when I Log off windows.

Could a power outage cause this?

Edited by dkellermann, 28 March 2009 - 04:28 PM.

  • 0

#18
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
It's possible. Could have affected the OS in some way.
Stranger things have happened.
I'm going to ask a fellow tech to take a look at this and see what he thinks. He may be busy but I have been getting allot of support from him and he is very good.
  • 0

#19
dkellermann

dkellermann

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
I really appreciate your help :)
  • 0

#20
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I won't give up if you won't. Others will help also if they take a look and have ideals. It's probably something real simple I'm missing but I'm still investigating for you
Hey something we can try
Have you tried to login in safe mode as administrator?
That may show that ghost account that way. Just hit me that we're trying to do this all in normal mode

Edited by rshaffer61, 28 March 2009 - 04:46 PM.

  • 0

#21
dkellermann

dkellermann

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
When I boot to safe mode, it's the ghost account! lol
Is there an easy way to send all my settings to the ghost account?

Edited by dkellermann, 28 March 2009 - 04:59 PM.

  • 0

#22
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I believe there is.. let me check into that
hey there is a way if you have tweakui for xp
You can specify which account to auto login
Isn't that what you are trying to do, to get your login to be the default login?

Edited by rshaffer61, 28 March 2009 - 06:14 PM.

  • 0

#23
dkellermann

dkellermann

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
'K, I'll check it out and let you know... brb
  • 0

#24
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK, if you don't have tweakui for xp there is a link to it in my signature.
Worst case scenario is you can do a repair installation on winxp. That will take it back to when it was first installed but you will be able to keep everything on your system. In short it will give you one login and the administrator login. Then you can recreate the other logins if needed.As with any repair there is a possibility of data lost but its very thin.
  • 0

#25
dkellermann

dkellermann

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
:)

It worked! Thank you so much...
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
cbarnard

cbarnard

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 755 posts
Congrats Dkellerman on getting backup and running

Good job Rshaffer61

The light just clicked on in my head I was getting ready to reply the possible fix and I saw it was taken care of...
But that's the way it goes.

Cbarnard
  • 0

#27
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
WOW it worked?!!!!
Thats fantastic dkellermann. Like i said it had to be a simple fix.
I bet when you first opened the tweakui it had the ghost account as the auto logon account? :)
cbarnard it only took your presence to make the fix come in to place. Thanks for the help.

Edited by rshaffer61, 28 March 2009 - 06:56 PM.

  • 0

#28
dkellermann

dkellermann

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
:)

It worked! Thank you so much...


Yes, it was ghost account, I just don't understand why or how it switched to that account all of a sudden (not that it matters now :) )
  • 0

#29
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Well I am glad we could help you out. Enjoy your system now and if you have any other problems please feel free to come back and ask. There are some great techs here and we'll all be happy to help you out.
:)
  • 0

#30
cbarnard

cbarnard

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 755 posts

cbarnard it only took your presence to make the fix come in to place. Thanks for the help.

I'm not that good rshaffer61. You did this one lol but thank you. Now I have even more to live up to...Congrats to both of you, see you next time.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP