Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

First Build -

• Please log in to reply

Sp0nge

Sp0nge

• PipPip
  • 90 posts
Hiya!

I'm planning on building a system for myself in the next few weeks intended for mostly video editing, graphic design and programming. I am sick to death of waiting for photoshop to take it's 5 minutes to open, and then another 5 minutes to load my thousands of fonts.

i have about $2,000-$2200 AUD to spend on the system.

im a complete newbie at the hardware side of things, so bare with me :)

i need particular help in selecting the power source, and cooling unit..

Processor/CPU:
Something quad core... perhaps:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 3.0GHz 12MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W
About $317.

Memory:
As much as I can afford! 6GB? Compatible with mobo?
Kingston HyperX 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3
$217.99

Mobo:
i7 Preferably. Compatible with memory?
EVGA 132-BL-E758-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX
$294.99

Graphics:
Dual cards. Does mobo support it?
2x GeForce 9600 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0
$79.99 x 2

Hard Drive:
Don't need too much space...
Western Digital Caviar GP WD7500AACS 750GB 5400 to 7200 RPM
$60

DVD Drive
Anything really..
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16827136152
$24.99

Power Supply:
Not a clue!
Any suggestions?

Fan / Heatsink
Also no clue.

Case
How large would a case need to be to fit such a computer?

Chances are, that stuff probably all contradicts itself, so any guidance is appreciated!

Advertisements

cbarnard

cbarnard

• PipPipPip
  • 755 posts
here we go...

Processor/CPU:
Something quad core... perhaps: