Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Explorer.exe corrupt?


  • Please log in to reply

#1
ShadowPhoenix

ShadowPhoenix

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
Recently on my desktop machine, I tried to boot Windows XP SP3 but I always get the Data Execution Prevention message popping up saying that it stopped explorer.exe from booting. Now, since explorer.exe is the basis of the Windows GUI, without it I can't actually use my computer.

Usually when this happens, I get the desktop up for a bit, I can move the mouse around, but I can't click on anything. After a few minutes or so, I get a quick BSOD pop up, but it's there and gone so fast that I can't read what's on it. It's not a full BSOD, just two lines of text followed by some numbers.

Now, is it possible to repair the Windows installation *without* formatting the drive? I know that there is a way, but I've never done this before, so some help would be nice.

I was toying around with it, trying to find the option to do a repair install and I stumbled upon the Windows Advanced Recovery Console (when booting from the XP CD). Is there a command in here that is used to repair the installation?

Also, when booting to safe mode, I get the following message:

One of the files containing the system's Registry data had to be recovered by use of a log or alternate copy. The recovery was successful.

However, this still doesn't fix the problem.

Specs: (don't laugh, it's an old machine)
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual 4600+ 2.41GHz
1.00gb Ram
150gb HDD
NVidia GeForce 6800 XT
Windows XP Pro SP3
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Is this a name brand system? If so what is the make and model?
Do you have genuine Microsoft xp disc?
  • 0

#3
ShadowPhoenix

ShadowPhoenix

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
Yes, I do have the Genuine Windows XP disc. And yes, it is a name brand system. It was built by Touch Systems. As for the make and model, I'm not sure which. Sorry.

Also, just started running a chkdsk. I got the message "Correcting error in index $I30 for file 31376". It showed up twice. Does this mean anything significant?

Edited by ShadowPhoenix, 30 March 2009 - 11:23 AM.

  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Not sure about the error, but another suggestion for you.
Once chkdsk is finished and if it doesn't fix the problem
you can try to run sfc /scannow
you will need the xp disk most likely to do this.

Edited by rshaffer61, 30 March 2009 - 11:26 AM.

  • 0

#5
ShadowPhoenix

ShadowPhoenix

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
Alright. Do I just run it from the command console in safe mode or from the Advanced Recovery Console on the disc?

Once I run it, I'll let you know how it went... If chkdsk ever finishes.
  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
we crossed posted. Make sure chkdsk didn't fix the problem before attempting sfc /scannow
yes its run the same way you ran chkdsk
  • 0

#7
ShadowPhoenix

ShadowPhoenix

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
[bleep], I hate when cross posting happens :)

Anyways, I will check if it fixes it. If not, I'll run sfc /scannow. And if that doesn't work, well I guess I'm back to square one.

Thank you for the help good sir.
  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Not a problem and there are other ways to get this fixed.
:)
  • 0

#9
ShadowPhoenix

ShadowPhoenix

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
Chkdsk did not fix the issue, unfortunately.

I'm having some issues with the sfc /scannow command. I keep getting the error message

Windows File Protection could not initialize a scan of protected system files.

The specific error code is 0x000006ba [The RPC server is unavailable]


Now, you said I'd need my XP disc for this, so I put it into the drive and tried again, but I had the same message pop up.

What am I doing wrong?

Edited by ShadowPhoenix, 30 March 2009 - 07:24 PM.

  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I don't think you are doing anything wrong..
Let me do some looking and see whats going on.. I;m sure its a easy problem to overcome
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Well you asked at the beginning of all this if we could reinstall windows without losing any data right?
Are you up for trying that?
  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Hey maybe hfcg has an ideal on this. I'm always willing to let someone else who knows more step in
  • 0

#13
ShadowPhoenix

ShadowPhoenix

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
Yeah, I'm still up for a repair install of XP, so long as its possible to do without having to format the drive. I've never done such a thing before but I've heard it's possible...

Although, I have ways of backing up the HDD before reformatting.

Anyways, I'm going to let it sit for the night. I'll try again tomorrow.

Thanks again.
  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Ok I will be here. I'm a early riser so I'll check as soon as I get up.
  • 0

#15
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
There is something else that we can try. That is to replace the explorer.exe file
I just want to make sure what you are seeing first tho

Is it
Explorer.exe this is windows explorer
or is it
explore.exe this is a virus
please be sure as it will determine what we do next
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP