Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

A little OC help - AMD X2 4400+ Toledo

• Please log in to reply

Danstar10

Danstar10

• PipPip
  • 39 posts
Hello all,

Im in need of a little assistance. Im basically trying to OC an AMD X2 4400+ Toledo to around 2.4 (tho 2.6 would be nice).

I have no prior experience of OCing a CPU however i have built up my computer a fair bit and am generally good with computers so im no noob.

As stock my cpu cores run at around 30c idle and max 51c full load - when put under the small FFTs 'torture test' of Prime95.

I have had a 'quick' OC try and upped the CPU freq from 200 to 210 in BIOS (it appeared not to boot at any higher) which gave me around 2.3Ghz i think, and added a couple of degrees to the max load temp maxing at 53c ish.

My question is how would you seasoned OC'ers go about getting a little more from this old chap of a CPU. Should i increase the voltage? as i have heard this gives a minimal benifit for the risk it poses to the hardware.

I dont seem to have access to the 'HT multiplier' in the BIOS (the one which is 5x by default) but i think i have access to the CPU multiplier (listed as 'K8 CPU clock ratio' in the BIOS)

My motherboard is a 'GIGABYTE Nvidia Nforce 4 SLI the model is GA-K8N Pro-SLI' and i have 2x 1GB pc3200 RAM

think that is all you need to know for this, and i have uploaded a pic of CPUz showing no OC readings and the menus I get in my BIOS.

Id be happy to use some software to OC if any can be reccomended?