Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

"Stop : 0x000000FC" Error.


  • Please log in to reply

#16
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
Lets try to eliminate possible issues with your system. Start with RAM.

http://www.memtest.org/

Go here to download memtest. Go to Download (Pre-built and ISOs)

Get the file that is named Download - Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip)
It should be under v.2.11
Unzip the file once you download it. You should have a .iso file in the unzipped directory.

http://www.terabyteu...ee-software.htm

Go here and download Burncdcc. Open up the .iso file that you unzipped earlier with Burncdcc. Burn a CD using this program (burn at a slow speed (1X))

Now you should have a bootable CD that has memtest on it. This program tests your RAM and ensures it is in good condition. Once you have the CD, you should take out all sticks of RAM from your computer except one.
Boot from the disc, and run the memory test for at least 7 passes.
After this test passed or failed, try the other stick of RAM (if there is another).
Run this test overnight if you want to.

http://www.dummies.c...our-laptop.html
Read this if you have a notebook.

http://www.associate...ter.html?cat=59
Watch this video to remove RAM on a desktop.
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
KH19

KH19

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
I think I may just buy a windows CD and try to fix it that way, would reformating my computer fix this issue? If so what CD type would be the best to get? (links would be appreciated) I know know the difference between the upgrade version and the one for system builders. Is there a huge difference between XP and XP professional? Is it hard to reformat my computer?

Thanks in advance.
  • 0

#18
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
it may take care of the problem by reinstalling. Hopefully there are no issues with your memory. But you will know if that is the problem right away
  • 0

#19
KH19

KH19

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Im gunna do the memtest tonight. Another problem that I have now is when I right-click an icon (anywhere on my desktop or any folder) I get a windows explorer error that shuts down the explorer and relaunches it a few seconds later. Is that a sign of something wrong with the RAM?

Edit: I just installed SP3 again and the windows explorer error stopped. Now to try the devices.

Edit 2x: OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG that fixed it!!!! Thanks for all your guys help, if it happens again ill just uninstall SP3 and reinstall it again!

Again, thanks for all your guys help!

Edited by KH19, 13 April 2009 - 10:27 PM.

  • 0

#20
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Please run the memtest so that we can rule out any problem with that
  • 0

#21
usasma

usasma

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 636 posts
  • MVP
Lenovo's usually have a recovery partition and/or a set of recovery disks - post back here before buying anything.
Don't restore the computer before running the hardware tests - if it's a hardware problem you'll have wiped the hard drive out and still won't fix the problem.
  • 0

#22
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts

Don't restore the computer before running the hardware tests - if it's a hardware problem you'll have wiped the hard drive out and still won't fix the problem.


Yea, make sure nothing is wrong with your RAM first before you reinstall. If that isn't a problem, then you have found a workaround.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP