Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

My Computer Freezes At Random


  • Please log in to reply

#91
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
lets make sure its not your memory going bad...get memtest + here....
the lowdown is here..

if you have a floppy drive you can get the 6th one down ...set the bios to boot from the floppy drive A:
first...then the cd drive then the Hard drive C:

or you can get the 2nd one down and burn the ISO file to a cd and then boot it from the cd drive...

if you don't have a burning program that will burn .ISO files go

here and get burncdcc ..a small FAST no frills iso
burning program...

NOTE...do not put a blank cd in until burncdcc opens the tray for you
1. Start BurnCDCC
2. Browse to the ISO file you want to burn on cd/dvd ....in this case its memtest86.iso
3. Select the ISO file
4. click on Start

make sure in the bios the cd drive is the first boot device....put the cd in the cd drive..boot your computer....

let memtest run for at least 2 hours...if it starts showing any errors during that time then you will have
to replace the RAM...no errors after 2 hours just press Esc to end the tests and we will try some other
tests

Edited by happyrock, 26 April 2009 - 06:11 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#92
Kuronishi

Kuronishi

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
Okay, I ran the test and I saw no errors. But before ram errors can be ruled out, I want to make sure I did the test correctly. Are you supposed to do the test on each individual ram slot or can you run it on all of them; I ran it on all of them at the same time.

Edited by Kuronishi, 04 May 2009 - 04:29 AM.

  • 0

#93
Kuronishi

Kuronishi

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
bump
  • 0

#94
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
if you ran it with all the ram installed and it passed at least 2 full tests then ALL the ram is good...

I also run two virus programs at the same time during start up and that's Max Secure Spyware Detector and BitDefender Game Safe 2008.

try disabling one of them...
  • 0

#95
Kuronishi

Kuronishi

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts

if you ran it with all the ram installed and it passed at least 2 full tests then ALL the ram is good...

I also run two virus programs at the same time during start up and that's Max Secure Spyware Detector and BitDefender Game Safe 2008.

try disabling one of them...


Yup, I remember it last night showing that my RAM passed 2 tests and I already temporarily uninstalled Max Secure Spyware Detector.
  • 0

#96
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
how long did memtest run for to complete 2 full passes
  • 0

#97
Kuronishi

Kuronishi

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
uh..I put it on at 11 pm and shut it down at 2 am. By that time I saw two passes.
  • 0

#98
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
http://www.techspot....topic62524.html
According to this tut, you should run at least 7 passes. Run them overnight.

Go to the directory C:\Windows\Minidump
Make sure that hidden files are visible.
Zip up the files there.
Attach the zip archive to your next post.

By the way, can you recap your problem, and all the steps you took to troubleshoot it? I am getting lost as I read through.

Edited by edge2022, 04 May 2009 - 06:31 PM.

  • 0

#99
Kuronishi

Kuronishi

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
RECAP


Problem:

I have a PC that works GREAT up until the point when it freezes RANDOMLY. When this happens I can't use the mouse or

keyboard and I have to reboot it manually by pressing reset on the tower. I updated all my drivers w/ PC Pitstop's Driver

Alert, I scanned for spyware to no avail w/ Max Secure Spyware Detecter and BitDefender, And I tried switching my RAM

sticks and restarting my PC using each one alone. None of this helped me figure out what the problem was. If anyone knows how to fix this, please let me know how!

Here's my system specs...


Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP3 (5.1, Build 2600)
System Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Processor: Intel® Pentium® 4 CPU 3.40GHz (2 CPUs) (I have two internal hard drives)
Memory: 3328MB RAM
Direct X Version: 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
Graphic Card: NVIDIA GeFORCE 8800 GT
G-Card Approx Memory: 512.0 MB


Steps Taken…

[X] Updated all drivers

[X] Repair Installation of Windows XP

[X] Uninstalled and Reinstalled SP3

[X] Reformatted

[X] Reinstalled SP3

[X] Reinstalled Bit Defender, Max Secure Spyware Detector, PC Pitstop Optimize 2, PC Pitstop Driver Alert, IE8

[X] Followed Malware Guide

His logs are clean, I highly doubt its malware related


[X] Posted a screenshot of my processes on pg 5

[X] Removed Quicktime ...and Adobe reader, replaced w/ Foxit Reader & QuickTime Alternative.

[X] Downloaded and used CCleaner and Diskeeper Lite

[X] Run…MSCONFIG, uncheck everything EXCEPT ANTI VIRUS and firewall

[X] Downloaded Everest Home, and posted Sensor’s temps and voltages on pg 6

what video card do you have installed...THAT temp is high...
your CMOS mobo battery is a little low too..
unplug the computer from the wall ...open up the case and give it a good cleaning...be static safe..
pay particular attention to the video card fan....


[X] Cleaned PC w/ air can

[ ] Replace CMOS Battery (Didn’t do it)

[X] Temporarily uninstalled Spyware Detector, didn’t yet reinstall

[X] Did Memtest + via CD; passed two times

[X] Did Memtest + via CD; passed two 7 times

[ ] Go to the directory C:\Windows\Minidump (couldn’t locate that directory)
  • 0

#100
Kuronishi

Kuronishi

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
bump
  • 0

Advertisements


#101
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
I'm about out of ideas...do you see any pattern at all for the freeze's..like running a certain program..having several of the same programs running at the same time...
  • 0

#102
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts

I'm about out of ideas

Same here. I don't think this is a software issue but rather something to do with the hardware. Try taking out your hard drive, and booting from it on another computer.
  • 0

#103
Kuronishi

Kuronishi

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
Aww...man...I'm thinking of just taking it to Best Buy or the manufacturer and having them fix it. Thanks for everything tho.

Edited by Kuronishi, 07 May 2009 - 02:00 AM.

  • 0

#104
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
let us know what they find...my guess is a hardware issue...
  • 0

#105
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Just a warning, backup your stuff cause any retailer will not do it for you. they will simply format and reinstall your OS and everything will be lost.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP