Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

I got this message when I turned on my PC today.


  • Please log in to reply

#16
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Yep, and if you want to make sure
Disconnect that drive till you have new hd
OS system is back on it, and everything is working correctly. Then reconnect it
No way then for anything to happen to the drive
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
That drive will be safe, and if you buy a new master drive and load XP on it; you might have to reinstall some programs.
  • 0

#18
MattCharles

MattCharles

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
I have an HP Pavilion Desktop. You think HP will give me the OS cheap? lol
  • 0

#19
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
I think you are looking at around 20$ :)
http://h10025.www1.h...ocname=bph07143
This link will help you get the CDs

You can also try and make your own recovery discs, at no cost
http://h10025.www1.h...cname=bph08097#

Hope that works for you, or you will have to order them. :)
  • 0

#20
MattCharles

MattCharles

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts

I think you are looking at around 20$ :)
http://h10025.www1.h...ocname=bph07143
This link will help you get the CDs

You can also try and make your own recovery discs, at no cost
http://h10025.www1.h...cname=bph08097#

Hope that works for you, or you will have to order them. :)


I made the recovery discs though! They should have the OS on it? I should be fine, right?
  • 0

#21
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
You should be fine then. Now all you have to do is get the new HD, reload the OS and everything should work
  • 0

#22
MattCharles

MattCharles

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts

You should be fine then. Now all you have to do is get the new HD, reload the OS and everything should work



Now which HD should I get now? which one is good?

I found a few, do you know which is better than each other?

http://www.amazon.co...i...4848&sr=8-4

http://www.amazon.co...Y...4848&sr=8-4
  • 0

#23
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Which model of Hp Pavillion Desktop?
Then I can research and make sure which drive you can use
  • 0

#24
MattCharles

MattCharles

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
I have A735W

I also need a lot of HD space because I do a lot of video editing and music. :)
  • 0

#25
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Go Here for your system specs

Go Here for your motherboard specs

Now it seems you can run either a IDE or Sata hd
That being the case you should be fine with either hd you picked
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
Major Payne

Major Payne

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 5,307 posts
Your Recovery discs you burned will be just fine. The OS updates will have to be installed as they come in. All your driver updates and programs will have to be installed again.

HP Pavilion User.

Edited by Major Payne, 13 April 2009 - 08:46 PM.

  • 0

#27
MattCharles

MattCharles

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts

Go Here for your system specs

Go Here for your motherboard specs

Now it seems you can run either a IDE or Sata hd
That being the case you should be fine with either hd you picked


ok so the onces I picked would be good? which one is the best though? :)
and after hooking it up, I pop in the disks? this is the confusing part lol.
  • 0

#28
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Either will work but if you can afford it spend the extra 30 dollars and get the bigger drive.
After hooking the drive up just insert your recovery disk.
You may have to go into the bios and change the boot sequence to cdrom then hd
When the system boots up it will prompt you to push any key to boot to cdrom.
Push a key.
Follow the prompts for a new installation. It should walk you through it from there. If you need assistance we are always here. Just post here and we will help you
  • 0

#29
MattCharles

MattCharles

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
thanks so much! and there are like 5 to 6 CDs lol. so I guess one at a time has to go in. I think it says load Disc 2 then Disc 3 etc. :)
  • 0

#30
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
You can do it and you have us for support. We will be happy to help if you need it.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP