Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Trouble Installing Arachnophilia


  • Please log in to reply

#1
lorrizz

lorrizz

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
I download it and try to open the .jar file and get this:

Could not find the main class
C:\Program Files\Arachnophilia\Arachnophilia.jar
Program will exit


I'm sure this has something to do with java, but I have it set to open with that.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Ok what is it exactly? I find references to a game or a web source program.
Where did you download it from

We will need some more information

If this is a name brand system:
Make
Model
Operating System
Age of the computer
Memory Total
Hard Drive Size, How much free space



If this is custom then We will need the following:

The CPU brand and model
The Motherboard brand and model
Ram amount and speed
Cd\Dvd rom interface IDE/ SATA
Hard Drive size and free space
Any cards in PCI slots
Any software installed\updated and driver updates done just before problem started

All this will help in determining a course of action to best correct the problem you are experiencing.
  • 0

#3
lorrizz

lorrizz

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
It's a site making program, I got it directly from their site.

HP
Pavillion
Vista
2 yrs
2gb
250 with 90 free

I'm fairly sure this has something to do with java, because even tho it says I have the latest version installed, when I do the test, it's never working.

Edited by lorrizz, 13 April 2009 - 03:25 PM.

  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK then lets see if it is java

Please download JavaRa from the Here i to your desktop and unzip it to its own folder

* Run JavaRa.exe, pick the language of your choice and click Select. Then click Remove Older Versions.
* Accept any prompts.
* Open JavaRa.exe again and select Search For Updates.
* Select Update Using Sun Java's Website then click Search and click on the Open Webpage button. Download and install the latest Java Runtime Environment (JRE) version for your computer.

Edited by rshaffer61, 13 April 2009 - 03:30 PM.

  • 0

#5
lorrizz

lorrizz

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
JavaRa 1.12 Removal Log.

Report follows after line.

------------------------------------

The JavaRa removal process was started on Tue Feb 03 08:39:11 2009

Found and removed: C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_01

Found and removed: C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_06

Found and removed: C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_07

Found and removed: SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\Folders\\C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_01\

Found and removed: SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\Folders\\C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_06\

Found and removed: SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\Folders\\C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_01\bin\

Found and removed: SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\Folders\\C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_06\bin\

Found and removed: SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\Folders\\C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_07\bin\

Found and removed: SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\Folders\C:\Program Files\Common Files\Java\Update\Base Images\jre1.6.0.b105\patch-jre1.6.0_01.b06\

Found and removed: SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\Folders\C:\Program Files\Common Files\Java\Update\Base Images\jre1.6.0.b105\patch-jre1.6.0_06.b02\

------------------------------------

Finished reporting.



JavaRa 1.12 Removal Log.

Report follows after line.

------------------------------------

The JavaRa removal process was started on Mon Apr 13 17:04:45 2009

------------------------------------

Finished reporting.



JavaRa 1.12 Removal Log.

Report follows after line.

------------------------------------

The JavaRa removal process was started on Mon Apr 13 17:34:19 2009

Found and removed: C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_01

Found and removed: C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_06

Found and removed: SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\Folders\\C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_01\

Found and removed: SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\Folders\\C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_06\

------------------------------------

Finished reporting.

It says I have the latest.
  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
ok now restart JAvaRa and select search for updates
that will find the newest version and then download and install
  • 0

#7
lorrizz

lorrizz

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
It tells me I already have the latest Java installed on this system
  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
ok did you install the newest version before?
  • 0

#9
lorrizz

lorrizz

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
Yes, I've had it installed. Should I uninstall again and reinstall?
  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
have you tried the program since uninstalling all the older versions?
If not please do
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
lorrizz

lorrizz

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
I have and it's still a no go, also I notice in IE7 there is no java listed in my options either
  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
In IE go to
Tools>Internet Options>Advanced
make sure java scripting is enabled
  • 0

#13
lorrizz

lorrizz

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
There is no java scripting listed in IE
  • 0

#14
lorrizz

lorrizz

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
I have uninstalled, reinstalled, and am still having the issue. Java says it's loaded in IE but I can't run any java programs in it, and I can't run any executable .jar files. Could there something in the registry blocking it?
  • 0

#15
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I doubt very much this is a registry problem. Let's try a few scans and see what pops up at us. It is very important that you follow these steps in order as I post them. After each scan please try your program and post results if it worked or not. If first scan fixs the problem do not proceed to next scan.

Go to
Start>>Run>>>type in Chkdsk /f
click enter...it will probably ask if you want to do this on the next reboot...click Y
If the window doesn't shutdown on its own then reboot the system manually. On reboot the system will start the chkdsk operation
When completed it will boot the system back into windows.

Let me know if this fixs the problem



Go to
Start>>Run>>>type in Chkdsk /r
click enter...it will probably ask if you want to do this on the next reboot...click Y
If the window doesn't shutdown on its own then reboot the system manually. On reboot the system will start the chkdsk operation
This one will take longer the chkdsk /f
Note... there are 5 stages...it may appear to hang at a certain percent for a hour or more or even back up and go over the same area...this is normal...
DO NOT SHUT YOUR COMPUTER DOWN WHILE CHKDSK IS RUNNING OR YOU CAN HAVE SEVERE PROBLEMS... this can take several hours to complete.
When completed it will boot the system back into windows.

Let me know if this fixs the problem



Go Start>Run ("Start Search" in Vista), type in:
sfc /scannow
Click OK (hit Enter in Vista).
Have Windows CD/DVD handy.
If System File Checker (sfc) will find any errors, it may ask you for the CD/DVD.
If sfc won't find any errors in Windows XP, it'll simply quit, without any message.
In Vista you will receive the following message: "Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations".

For Vista users ONLY: Navigate to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS folder. You'll see CBS.log file.
Usually, it's pretty big file, so upload it here: http://www.flyupload.com/, and post download link.


If you don't have Windows CD....
(this applies mostly to Windows XP, since Vista rarely requires use of its DVD while running "sfc")
Note This method will not necessarily work as well, as when using Windows CD, because not always ALL system files are backed up on your hard drive. Also, backed up files may be corrupted as well.

Go Start>Run, type in:
regedit
Click OK.

Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

You will see various entries (Values) on the right hand side.

The one we want is called: SourcePath

It probably has an entry pointing to your CD-ROM drive,(usually D:) and that is why it is asking for the XP CD. All we need to do is change it to: C:
Now, double click the SourcePatch setting and a new box will pop up.
Change the drive letter from your CD drive to your root drive, usually C:
Close Registry Editor.

Now restart your computer and try sfc /scannow again!
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP