Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Mathematics

• Please log in to reply

Cold Titanium

Cold Titanium

Trusted Helper

• Malware Removal
  • 1,735 posts
Hello everyone! :) Hope this is the right place to post this.

I am currently studying for my associates in computer networking. I am very interested in mathematics(metaphysics?) as well though. <rant>One thing I hate is that every math class I get just teaches me a "form" or "method" to follow to pass their test. They never teach "why" or "how". </rant> All my math teachers say I am good at math, mainly because I have 102 averages in my classes, but I am basically just copying what the teacher did, and slightly altering it to fit the problem on the paper.

Anyways, I was wondering if it was possible for a human to do things like; use math to solve chess games or other complex puzzles. I want to be able to use math for more than just solving problems on paper. Get what I mean? I want the ability to be able to take math and adapt it to any complex problem and get an answer. Am I making any sense? Does anyone have any advice on what kind of math or other topics to study on my own? Or is this just a waste of time?

Thanks! :)

P.S. I am taking the Network+ exam at the end of this month. Any advice on that would also be appreciated :)

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP